MINUTES

STATE COMMITTEE FOR THE REORGANIZATION OF SCHOOL DISTRICTS December 12, 2019

Nebraska State Office Building, State Board Room, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509 9:30 am

1. Call to order (roll call).

Dale Fornander called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m.

Roll Call of Committee Members: Ted DeTurk Gerry Osborn - absent Alan Garey Dale Fornander Shad Stamm

Others Present:

Brian Halstead, Legal Counsel, NDE Micki Iverson, School Finance & Organization Services, NDE Bryce Wilson, School Finance & Organization Services, NDE

- 2. Mr. Fornander announced that information regarding the Open Meetings Act is located on the back wall of the State Board Room.
- 3. Approval of Minutes from the May 31, 2019, meeting.

A motion was made by Ted DeTurk and seconded by Alan Garey to approve the minutes.

Aye: Ted DeTurk, Alan Garey, Dale Fornander, Shad Stamm Gerry Osborn - Absent Motion Carried

4. Public Hearing: Antelope and Holt County: Board to Board Petition pursuant to §79-413 and 415, to reorganize the following schools by dissolution of:

Holt County School District 29, commonly known as Ewing Public Schools, (a Class III School) and Antelope County School District 0006, commonly known as Clearwater Public Schools, (a Class III School) and Antelope County School District 0049, commonly known as Orchard Public Schools, (a Class III School) and to create a new school district.

[Steve Williams] (Case 3001)

Proponents:

Steve Williams – Ewing, Orchard & Clearwater Public Schools, Attorney Dale Martin – NE Unified District 1, Superintendent Ted Hillman – Ewing Public Schools, Superintendent

A motion was made by Alan Garey and seconded by Shad Stamm to approve the board to board petition.

Aye: Ted DeTurk, Alan Garey, Dale Fornander, Shad Stamm Gerry Osborn - Absent Motion Carried

STATE COMMITTEE FOR THE REORGANIZATION OF SCHOOL DISTRICTS Minutes – December 12, 2019 Page 2

5. <u>Antelope County</u>: Appointment of Board Members for the newly created Antelope County School District No. 115. (Case 3001A)

A motion was made by Ted DeTurk and seconded by Shad Stamm to approve the new board members as previously presented.

Aye: Ted DeTurk, Alan Garey, Dale Fornander, Shad Stamm Gerry Osborn - Absent Motion Carried

6. The meeting was adjourned at 9:59 a.m.

MINUTES

STATE COMMITTEE FOR THE REORGANIZATION OF SCHOOL DISTRICTS March 25, 2020

This is an electronic meeting pursuant to Executive Order 20-03, members of the public can access the meeting via Zoom. No quorum of the public body will be physically present together. No provisions for in-person public attendance will be provided.

Nebraska State Office Building, 6th Floor, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE (9:30 a.m. CDT)

1. Call to order (roll call).

Dale Fornander called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m.

Roll Call of Committee Members:

Ted DeTurk (NSOB, Lincoln, NE) Gerry Osborn - absent Alan Garey (Curtis, NE) Dale Fornander (Chappell, NE) Shad Stamm (Benkelman, NE)

Others Present:

Brian Halstead, Legal Counsel, NDE (remote participant)
Micki Iverson, School Finance & Organization Services, NDE (NSOB, Lincoln, NE)
Bryce Wilson, School Finance & Organization Services, NDE (NSOB, Lincoln, NE)
Josh Fields, Superintendent, Seward Public Schools (remote participant)

- 2. Mr. Fornander announced that information regarding the Open Meetings Act is available at each of the member's sites.
- 3. Approval of Minutes from the December 12, 2019, meeting.

A motion was made by Alan Garey and seconded by Shad Stamm to approve the minutes.

Aye: Ted DeTurk, Alan Garey, Dale Fornander, Shad Stamm Gerry Osborn - Absent Motion Carried

4. Public Hearing: <u>Seward County:</u> Pursuant to §79-413 and 79-415 R.R.S. regarding the transfer of parcels of land between:

Seward County School District 80-0009, Seward Public Schools, and Seward County School District 80-0005, Milford Public Schools.

(Case LT 192) Effective date: March 25, 2020

Josh Fields, Superintendent, Seward Public Schools – explained the reason for the land transfer via remote location. There were no questions from Committee Members.

5. Action Item: Seward County Petition:

A motion was made by Ted DeTurk and seconded by Alan Garey to approve the Petition as presented.

Aye: Ted DeTurk, Alan Garey, Dale Fornander, Shad Stamm Gerry Osborn - Absent Motion Carried

6. The meeting was adjourned at 9:39 a.m.

MINUTES

STATE COMMITTEE FOR THE REORGANIZATION OF SCHOOL DISTRICTS May 28, 2020

This is an electronic meeting pursuant to Executive Order 20-03, members of the public can access the meeting via Zoom. No quorum of the public body will be physically present together. No provisions for in-person public attendance will be provided.

Nebraska State Office Building, 6th Floor, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE (9:30 a.m. CDT)

1. Call to order (roll call).

Dale Fornander called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m.

Roll Call of Committee Members:

Ted DeTurk (NSOB, Lincoln, NE)
Alan Garey (Curtis, NE)
Dale Fornander (Chappell, NE)
Shad Stamm (Benkelman, NE)

Others Present:

Brian Halstead, Legal Counsel, NDE (remote participant)

Micki Iverson, School Finance & Organization Services, NDE (NSOB, Lincoln, NE) Bryce Wilson, School Finance & Organization Services, NDE (NSOB, Lincoln, NE) Doug Lewis, Assistant Superintendent for Business Services, Papillion-LaVista Public Schools (remote participant)

Derek Aldridge, Attorney, Perry Law Firm (remote participant)

- 2. Mr. Fornander announced that information regarding the Open Meetings Act is available at each of the member's sites.
- 3. Approval of Minutes from the March 25, 2020 meeting.

A motion was made by Alan Garey and seconded by Ted DeTurk to approve the minutes.

Aye: Ted DeTurk, Alan Garey, Dale Fornander, Shad Stamm Motion Carried

4. Public Hearing: <u>Sarpy County:</u> Pursuant to § 79-4,117 through 79-4,129 R.R.S. regarding the transfer of parcels of land between:

Sarpy County School District 77-0046, Springfield-Platteview Public Schools, and Sarpy County School District 77-0027, Papillion-LaVista Public Schools. (Shadow Lake)
(Case LT 193) Effective date: May 28, 2020

5. Public Hearing: <u>Sarpy County:</u> Pursuant to § 79-4,117 through 79-4,129 R.R.S. regarding the transfer of parcels of land between: <u>Sarpy County:</u> Pursuant to §79-413 and 79-415 R.R.S. regarding the transfer of parcels of land between: Sarpy County School District 77-0046, Springfield-Platteview Public Schools, and Sarpy County School District 77-0027, Papillion-LaVista Public Schools. (Sumtur Crossing)

(Case LT 194) Effective date: May 28, 2020

Derek Aldridge, Attorney, Perry Law Firm – explained the reason for the land transfers via remote location.

6. Action Item: Action on transfer of parcels of land between:

Sarpy County School District 77-0046, Springfield-Platteview Public Schools, and Sarpy County School District 77-0027, Papillion-LaVista Public Schools. (Shadow Lake) (Case LT 193)

A motion was made by Alan Garey and seconded by Shad Stamm to approve the Petition as presented.

Aye: Ted DeTurk, Alan Garey, Dale Fornander, Shad Stamm Motion Carried

7. Action on transfer of parcels of land between:

Sarpy County School District 77-0046, Springfield-Platteview Public Schools, and Sarpy County School District 77-0027, Papillion-LaVista Public Schools. (Sumtur Crossing) (Case LT 194)

A motion was made by Ted DeTurk and seconded by Alan Garey to approve the Petition as presented.

Aye: Ted DeTurk, Alan Garey, Dale Fornander, Shad Stamm Motion Carried

8. The meeting was adjourned at 9:40 a.m.