The Standards Revision Process

The Impetus

In 2016, Dr. Janine Theiler initiated the first World Language Colloquium to discuss and establish priorities for NDE in meeting the needs of world language teachers across the state. Task force groups were formed to address needs in the areas of programming, proficiency, professional learning, advocacy and collaboration. Around that time, NDE decided to establish a consistent and cohesive plan to creating and revising standards in all content areas. A schedule for revision was created that marked 2018 as the year for World Language revision.

The Research

The Nebraska Department of Education sent a statewide survey to all world language teachers in December 2017. Teachers were asked for input that would help to shape the discussion at the upcoming second World Language Colloquium. Questions included prompts for language demographics, materials used, the role of the current world language frameworks, and professional practices.

World Language Colloquium 2018

Forty participants gathered in Lincoln in February 2018. The majority of participants were those who had participated in the 2016 Colloquium. Representatives from districts throughout the state, technical colleges, universities, educational service units, and international associations discussed the purpose of language learning and the skill sets that it requires.

World Language Standards Advisory Council

Seventeen educators arrived in Lincoln in June and August 2018 to author the revised standards. The group analyzed and compared standards from other states, from other content areas, and from national organizations both language and non-language specific. Working through mindful discussions, the Council established the essentials of world language learning.

World Language Standards Writing Team

The writing team met from October to December 2018 to create indicators at specific proficiency levels. The proficiency levels established by the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages are Novice, Intermediate, Advanced, Superior, and Distinguished.

World Language Standards Focus Teams

Areas of special focus were language immersion, heritage speakers, classical languages, critical languages, and Native American languages. These groups met electronically to provide input into the standards.

Acknowledgements

Nebraska Department of Education

Commissioner of Education Administrator, Teaching, Learning, and Assessment World Language Program Leader Dr. Matthew L. Blomstedt Dr. Cory Epler Stephanie Call

The Standards Editing Team

Alicia Dallman Shoemaker

Jamie Honke

The Standards Revision Team

Brett Avila Sidney Public Schools

Sid Bad Mocassin III Nebraska Indian College

Amber Beltrand Schuyler Public Schools

Maria Burgos Axtell Public Schools

Dr. Theresa Catalano University of Nebraska Lincoln

Katy Cattlett Omaha Public Schools

Jan Coone ESU 16, retired

Alicia Corneman Hartington Newcastle Public Schools

Alicia Dallman Shoemaker Elkhorn Public Schools

Tiffany Dalton Waverly Public Schools

Brooke David Nebraska Department of Education Dr. Jonathan Dettman University of Nebraska Kearney

Dr. Steven Duke University of Nebraska

Dr. Chad Dumas Hastings Public Schools

Dr. Janet Eckerson Lincoln Public Schools

Misty Frazier Nebraska Indian College

John Fraser Creighton Preparatory School

Mary Lea Free Norris Public Schools

Rebecca Gill-Rose Palmyra Public Schools

Shanna Hellerich Shelton Public Schools

Cara Heminger Lincoln Public Schools

Mel Hernandez Lincoln Public Schools Dr. Christopher Heselton University of Nebraska Confucius Institute

Dr. Kristen Hetrick Doane University

Angela Hinze Scottsbluff Public Schools

Dr. Jami Holbein Swanson Lincoln Public Schools

Jamie Honke Ralston Public Schools

Nila Jacobson Lincoln Public Schools, retired

Jesús Jurado Mendoza Embassy of Spain, Ministry of Education

Becky Keilig Nebraska Department of Education

Candida Kraska Millard Public Schools

Amanda Levos Grand Island Public Schools Mary Claire Liescheski Douglas County West Public Schools

Dr. Jared List Doane University

Dr. Amy Mancini-Marshall Grand Island Public Schools

Dr. Naomi Mardock Uman Metropolitan Community College

Liz Martinez Elm Creek Public Schools

Dr. Aleidine J. Moeller University of Nebraska Lincoln

Jacqueline Mohr Syracuse Dunbar Avoca Public Schools

Mikayla Niederklein Hastings Catholic Schools

Dr. Kristen Nugent Concordia University Jorge Ortega Kearney Public Schools

Maria Perez Mozaz Omaha Public Schools

Dr. Rita Ricaurte Nebraska Wesleyan University

Dr. Mytzy Rodriguez-Kufner Wayne State College

Dr. Brenda Romero College of Saint Mary

Dr. Brenda Schiermeyer Fremont Public Schools

Cathy Scurlock Omaha Public Schools

Dr. Patty Simpson University of Nebraska Lincoln

Coral Su Lincoln Public Schools

Dr. Yasuko Taoka Wayne State College Martha Thompson Norfolk Public Schools

Dr. Marie Trayer Nebraska Wesleyan University, Retired

Dr. Janine Theiler Lincoln Public Schools

Liliana Velasco Columbus Public Schools

Avie Veldkamp York Public Schools

Angie Wagoner Crete Public Schools

Dr. Michelle Warren University of Nebraska Kearney

Dr. Nick Ziegler ESU 5

Rosa Zimmerman Ogallala Public Schools