MINUTES

STATE COMMITTEE FOR THE REORGANIZATION OF SCHOOL DISTRICTS August 18, 2017

Nebraska State Office Building, State Board Room 6th Floor, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 9:30 a.m. CDT

1. Call to order (roll call).

Dale Fornander called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m., CDT

Roll Call of Committee Members: Ted DeTurk Gerry Osborn Alan Garey Dale Fornander Teresa Hawk

Others Present:

Brian Halstead, General Counsel, NDE Micki Iverson, School Finance & Organization Services, NDE Bryce Wilson, School Finance & Organization Services, NDE

- 2. Mr. Fornander announced that information regarding the Open Meetings Act is located on the back wall of the State Board Room.
- 3. Approval of Minutes from the May 30, 2017, meeting.

A motion was made by Gerry Osborn and seconded by Alan Garey to approve the minutes.

Aye: Alan Garey, Gerry Osborn, Dale Fornander, Ted DeTurk, Teresa Hawk Motion Carried

4. Public Hearing:

Butler/Seward County: Pursuant to §§79-413 and 79-415 R.R.S. regarding the transfer of parcels of land between:

East Butler County School District 502, commonly known as East Butler Public Schools, (a Class III School) and Seward County School District 9, commonly known as Seward Public Schools (a Class III School). (Case LT 185)

Bobby Kozisek supported and answered questions on the proposed land transfer.

5. Action on Public Hearing:

Butler/Seward County: Pursuant to §§79-413 and 79-415 R.R.S. regarding the transfer of parcels of land between:

East Butler County School District 502, commonly known as East Butler Public Schools, (a Class III School) and Seward County School District 9, commonly known as Seward Public Schools (a Class III School). (Case LT 185)

A motion was made by Gerry Osborn and seconded by Ted DeTurk to approve the land transfer as previously described with an effective date of January 1, 2018.

Aye: Alan Garey, Gerry Osborn, Dale Fornander, Ted DeTurk, Teresa Hawk Motion Carried

STATE COMMITTEE FOR THE REORGANIZATION OF SCHOOL DISTRICTS Minutes – May 30, 2017 Page 2

- 6. Other Business schedule additional meetings in October or November.
- 7. The meeting was adjourned at 9:43 a.m., CDT.

MINUTES

STATE COMMITTEE FOR THE REORGANIZATION OF SCHOOL DISTRICTS October 20, 2017

Via video conference at the following sites:

Nebraska State Office Building, State Board Room 6th Floor, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE Medicine Valley Schools, 303 Crook St, Curtis, NE

Fornander, Inc., DBA Prince-Empson Insurance, 236 Vincent Ave, Chappell, NE

ESU 17, 207 N Main Street, Ainsworth, NE

9:30 a.m. CDT

1. Call to order (roll call).

Dale Fornander called the meeting to order at 9:33 a.m., CDT.

Roll Call of Committee Members: Ted DeTurk Gerry Osborn Alan Garey Dale Fornander Teresa Hawk (absent)

Others Present:

Brian Halstead, General Counsel, NDE Micki Iverson, School Finance & Organization Services, NDE

- 2. Mr. Fornander announced that information regarding the Open Meetings Act is located on the back wall of the State Board Room and at each of the other locations listed above.
- 3. Approval of Minutes from the August 18, 2017, meeting.

A motion was made by Gerry Osborn and seconded by Alan Garey to approve the minutes.

Aye: Gerry Osborn, Dale Fornander, Ted DeTurk, Alan Garey Teresa Hawk- absent Motion Carried

- 4. Public Hearings:
 - A. <u>Sarpy County:</u> Pursuant to §79-4,117 and 79-4,129 R.R.S. regarding the transfer of parcels of land between:

Sarpy County School District 77-0046, commonly known as Springfield Platteview Community Schools, (a Class III School) and Sarpy County School District 77-0001, commonly known as Bellevue Public Schools, (a Class III School) ("Hyda Hills II"). (Case LT 186)

Sarpy County School District 77-0046, commonly known as Springfield Platteview Community Schools, (a Class III School) and Sarpy County School District 77-0001, commonly known as Bellevue Public Schools, (a Class III School) ("Belle Largo"). (Case LT 187)

Sarpy County School District 77-0046, commonly known as Springfield Platteview Community Schools, (a Class III School) and Sarpy County School District 77-0027, commonly known as Papillion-La Vista Community Schools, (a Class III School) ("Sumtur Crossing") (Case LT 188)

STATE COMMITTEE FOR THE REORGANIZATION OF SCHOOL DISTRICTS Minutes – October 20, 2017 Page 2

Exhibit 1 in each case included all of the information filed with the committee to date.

The Committee heard from Jim Gessford and Derek Aldridge on the Land Transfer cases.

5. Action on Sarpy County School District 77-0046, commonly known as Springfield Platteview Community Schools, (a Class III School) and Sarpy County School District 77-0001, commonly known as Bellevue Public Schools, (a Class III School) ("Hyda Hills II"). (Case LT 186)

A motion was made by Gerry Osborn and seconded by Ted DeTurk to approve the land transfer as previously described.

Aye: Gerry Osborn, Dale Fornander, Ted DeTurk, Alan Garey Teresa Hawk - absent Motion Carried

6. Action on Sarpy County School District 77-0046, commonly known as Springfield Platteview Community Schools, (a Class III School) and Sarpy County School District 77-0001, commonly known as Bellevue Public Schools, (a Class III School) ("Belle Largo"). (Case LT 187)

A motion was made by Alan Garey and seconded by Ted DeTurk to approve the land transfer as previously described.

Aye: Gerry Osborn, Dale Fornander, Ted DeTurk, Alan Garey Teresa Hawk - absent Motion Carried

7. Action on Sarpy County School District 77-0046, commonly known as Springfield Platteview Community Schools, (a Class III School) and Sarpy County School District 77-0027, commonly known as Papillion-La Vista Community Schools, (a Class III School) ("Sumtur Crossing") (Case LT 188)

A motion was made by Ted DeTurk and seconded by Alan Garey to approve the land transfer as previously described.

Aye: Gerry Osborn, Dale Fornander, Ted DeTurk, Alan Garey Teresa Hawk - absent Motion Carried

- 5. Public Comment: None
- 6. Other Business
- 7. The meeting was adjourned at 9:55 a.m.