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TRANSITION to TEACHING PERMIT
FOR NEBRASKA CERTIFICATION

This Permit requires continuing progress toward a Completed Teacher Education Program.

Employment in a Nebraska school system is required for this Permit.

The Nebraska Department of Education, in partnership with the University of Nebraska at Kearney, has
implemented the transitional teaching permit program. The intent of the permit is to provide an option for districts
that are unable to fill teaching positions with regular certified teachers.

The University of Nebraska at Kearney offers an online transitional certification program that is designed for those
individuals who already have a B.A. or B.S. degree or higher and have a significant amount of coursework (75%) in
a subject area.

The Candidate for the Transitional Teaching Permit must:
e Hold a baccalaureate degree with 75% of the content required by RULE 24 for the required endorsement;
e Submit a transcript review request through the Transitional Certification Program webpage at
http://www.unk.edu/academics/ted/transitional certification/index.php;

e Complete 3 professional education graduate courses (18 hours), as well as 6 graduate credit hours of student
teaching (completed while on-the-job). View online courses at http://www.unk.edu/academics/ecampus/;

e Follow a transitional plan developed by the UNK Transitional Certification Program that leads to Initial
Certification within 3 years of the first application for a Transitional Permit;

e Complete at least 6 credit hours each academic year to be eligible for renewal.

To obtain additional information on the career path to teaching, contact:
Kayla Fix, TCP Office Associate, fixkj@unk.edu, or at 308-865-8512.

To School Principals and Superintendents:

Before you hire a Transitional Teaching Permit candidate, make sure he/she qualifies to obtain the permit. Contact
Dr. Wendy McCarty, TCP Director, mccartywl@unk.edu, 308-865-8971.

Upon successful completion of the entire professional sequence, recommendation will be made to the Nebraska
Department of Education for the issuance of an Initial Teaching Certificate.
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