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Instructions:  Traditional Teaching Permit 
 

 
 Requirements  

1. Continuing progress toward a Completed Education Program.  

2. Employment in a Nebraska school system.  
 
The Nebraska Department of Education, in partnership with the University of Nebraska at Kearney, has 
implemented the transitional teaching permit program. The intent of the permit is to provide an option 
for districts that are unable to fill teaching positions with regular certified teachers.  
The University of Nebraska at Kearney offers an online transitional certification program that is designed 
for those individuals who already have a B.A. or B.S. degree or higher and have a significant amount of 
coursework (75%) in a subject area.  
 

The Candidate for the Transitional Teaching Permit must:  
1. Hold a baccalaureate degree with 75% of the content required by RULE 24 for the required 

endorsement.  

2. Submit a transcript review request through the Transitional Certification Program webpage at 
http://www.unk.edu/academics/ted/transitional_certification/index.php.  

3. Complete 3 professional education graduate courses (18 hours), as well as 6 graduate credit 
hours of student teaching (completed while on-the-job). View online courses at 
http://www.unk.edu/academics/ecampus.  

4. Follow a transitional plan developed by the UNK Transitional Certification Program that leads to 
Initial Certification within 3 years of the first application for a Transitional Permit.  

5. Complete at least 6 credit hours each academic year to be eligible for renewal.  
 
To obtain additional information on the career path to teaching, contact:  
Kayla Goodenberger, TCP Office Associate, goodenbergkj@unk.edu, or at 308-865-8512.  
 

To School Principals and Superintendents:  
Before you hire a Transitional Teaching Permit candidate, make sure he/she qualifies to obtain the 
permit. Contact Dr. Wendy McCarty, TCP Director, mccartywl@unk.edu, 308-865-8971.  
Upon successful completion of the entire professional sequence, recommendation will be made to the 

Nebraska Department of Education for the issuance of an Initial Teaching Certificate. 

 

References: 

1. Teacher Certification Manual 

2. Requirements:  Career Education Teaching Permit 

3. NDE from 20-023 School System Verification for Career Education Certificate 

mailto:nde.tcertweb@nebraska.gov
http://www.education.ne.gov/tcert

